Nutritionist Certification and Licensure in Oregon

In Oregon, the largest healthcare settings are Oregon Health & Science University which operates with 12,000 workers and Cancer CENTER/OHSU Cancer which has over 10,000 people. With such a huge and massive workforce, the state has developed into a place where professionals could be found in a large number. Have you ever thought how people become proper practitioners?

Professional degrees and licensure is what is required to be obtained in this state to work. If you want to become a nutritionist in Oregon, then degrees and licensure are mandatory. For it, you will have to follow certain rules and requirements as they are deemed properly suited to the state.

Why Licensure?

This is a question which might come more frequently in your mind. Well the reason is simple. The state and the board representing nutritionists want their practitioners to be properly qualified, trained and approved for work. How would they know if you have acquired professional education? A person who just sits and starts operating as a professional is a risk for human lives. Therefore, it has become necessary to open up practices only for those people who are eligible for it. It is for this reason they have specific and strict requirements.

Licensing Board in Oregon

The next thing that might come in your mind is how to get licensed as nutritionist certification in Oregon is essential for every nutritionist. This is not really the second step for licensure. First you should know which the official board is and how it operates.

The board which represents nutritionists in Oregon is called Oregon Health Licensing Agency. The board is responsible for receiving license applications, renewal license applications, conducting examinations, checking for authorized applicants, keeping a track of all licensees and their license expiry. Moreover, the board members also keep up with state laws and rules.

How to Obtain a License in Oregon?

These are the most important requirements set by the board if you want to obtain license.

The board says that you should have:

  • Completed a four year degree from any accredited university or college of the US.
  • The degree earned should be in food systems management, dietetics or nutrition.
  • After completing your education, you should go for an internship as recommended by your college or university or get a supervised work experience of 900 hours approved by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA).

Procedure for license

  • Get an application and submit it along with the application and license fees.
  • Provide evidence for your academics.
  • Pass the examination taken by the Commission of Dietetic Registration (CDR) as it is recognized by the board.

Fee structure

  • The application fee to be submitted by you is $50 and license fee is $75.
  • Renewal license fee is $75.
  • The duration of license is one year.
  • Fee is non-refundable.

Degree Options

There are both graduate and under graduate degrees available in Oregon. You could acquire bachelor’s degree, master’s degree and PhD degree in Nutrition. By choosing one of these degrees available in the state, you might come across research, communication and professional development. You might even check some online degrees in nutrition which are comparatively cheap and take lesser time to complete. Some courses of these programs are:

  • Nutritional Status
  • General Biochemistry
  • Metabolic Interrelationships
  • Dietary Interventions for Public Health
  • Medical Nutrition Therapy

Employment and Salary

You could be a part of healthy nutritionist’s and dietitian’s team of 480 people, as it was in 2011. They were paid a mean salary of $60,250 per year and $28.97 per hour in 2011 (BLS).

Campus Type:
Matching School Ads
Copyright © 2022 All Rights Reserved. Program outcomes vary according to each institution's curriculum and job opportunities are not guaranteed. This site is for informational purposes and is not a substitute for professional help.