Nutritionist Certification and License in Kentucky

Professionals known as nutritionists and dietitians operate by planning food or diet charts for people. These nutritionists are trained in recommending the right food. People who are ill or diseased might need special attention with the food they eat. These practitioners apply a particular diet plan and food which is suited to patients’ health. They also help people to reduce and gain weight along with a good health. They follow strict patterns to help people change their eating habits.

Nutritionists in Kentucky

If you are a resident of the US state of Kentucky, it might interest you to know that nutritionists’ employment level has increased a lot in the recent years. These practitioners are perhaps the most significant people needed in various industries. All the professional food associations and organizations look for these practitioners. Hotels, motels and restaurants have increased hiring of these specialists.  In 2011, their employment level was noted to be 940. On the other hand, a quite decent mean pay is offered to them which was $49,850 per year and $23.97 per hour in 2011 (BLS).


A very important thing that you should keep in mind is about licensure. Licensure is an act of making you a legal practitioner of your field. It is through this you will be in a position of applying knowledge of your field practically. If you do not have this, you probably will not be able to practice.

There are currently 35 states that seek licensure, 7 seek certification, 3 states have title protection, 3 have no statute and 4 are still pending licensure.

Kentucky is one such state where there is licensure for dietitian and certification for nutritionist. It is quite obvious that if you are a resident of Kentucky, then you will have to get yourself certified. For this, we should look at what the requirements of nutritionist certification in Kentucky are.

Requirement for applying

  • An application has to be submitted on forms given by the board.
  • You should have baccalaureate degree as approved by the state board.
  • You should have a master’s degree authenticated by the board and it should be in food sciences
  • You should have completed a minimum of 12 hours per semester  in nutrition assessment processes, medical nutrition therapy, nutrition in health and wellness, physiological and chemical processes of digestion, nutrient needs throughout the life cycle, nutrient needs in exercise and fitness and pathophysiology of disease states.
  • If your degree is not accredited then 45 semester and 68 quarter hours will have to be demonstrated by you.

Application fee

  • Application fee is to be submitted with the application.
  • Application fee for certification is $50.
  • Application fee is nonrefundable.

Renewal fee

  • Renewal is done at the end of every year before November 1.
  • The fee for renewing of certification is $50.
  • Late fee for renewal is $60.
  • Certification will expire if not renewed before November 1 of every year.

Certification not mandatory

  • If you are a dietitian or nutritionist in armed forces or public health services of the US.
  • If you are a federal, state or county worker in one of the nutritional programs, then you will not have to become certified.
  • If you are employed under a licensed dietitian or nutritionist, then this will not act on you.

Nutrition Degrees

Nutrition degrees focus on certain areas such as community nutrition, clinical nutrition and molecular and biochemical nutrition. Some of the courses that are taught in these degree programs are:

  • Integrated Nutritional Sciences
  • Basic Statistical Analysis
  • Ethics in Clinical Research
  • Cell Biology
Campus Type:
Matching School Ads
Copyright © 2022 All Rights Reserved. Program outcomes vary according to each institution's curriculum and job opportunities are not guaranteed. This site is for informational purposes and is not a substitute for professional help.