Nutritionist Certification & License in Connecticut

Nutritionists are professionals, who plan diet charts for people, give advice regarding health issues and promote health and healthy eating habits. They do this by education and research on food. Their work is required in schools and hospitals where they have to do overall management and perform community and clinical practices related to food.

Nutritionist Certification in Connecticut

Licensure is a law made to protect and keep the public safe and it eventually allows for practicing a profession. Licensure is necessary for advancement in a certain profession. As there is so much competition, a strong academic and professional background is essential to advance. For these reasons, it is important to prefer those individuals who are worthy of offering effective services to the people.

It is the aim of every state to protect the public by providing them professional services. This could only be possible if students acquire accredited degrees in nutrition. State boards are mediums which could be looked for certification and licensure. It is the accredited boards that make standards for a particular profession and stop non-professionals from practicing.

Among the 50 states of the US, currently there are 35 states that have licensure for nutritionists and dietitians, 7 states  have certification requirements in which 4 are looking for it, 3 states are in condition of title protection, 3 states in which there is no statute and 4 states have pending licensure.

Connecticut is one of those states of the US where certification is mandatory instead of licensure. Detailed information on nutritionist certification in Connecticut is given below.

Certification Requirements in Connecticut

Training of professionals

In Connecticut, it is recommended by the WGLSC to all members that education and training should be given priority:

  • All the programs of dietetics and nutritionists should have chapters for licensure and its scope. This should be made mandatory and asked before completing an internship.
  • Awareness should be made through seminars and web-based presentations on topics of competition, licensure and its importance. Apart from this, training should be provided on ethics and practice scope.

Certification Options

The certification in Connecticut is available for non-examined applicants and degree holders to advance accordingly.

Without examination applicants

The department will hold the authority to provide certificate of dietitian or nutritionist to people if they have:

  • Submitted an application
  • Paid fees of $190 along with the application.
  • Have given satisfactory evidence of being certified as a registered nutritionist through the Commission on Dietetic Registration or have completed a master’s or doctoral degree.
  • Passed a written examination with the degree from establishment of higher education.
  • Have passed the degree in one of the specialties of dietetics and nutrition such as nutrition biochemistry, food composition, human nutrition and nutrition in health and disease.

Examination applicants

Students have to keep a check of these requirements:

  • Complete a baccalaureate degree from accredited educational institute authorized by the United States Department of Education.
  • Take courses in areas of food composition or food science, community nutrition or public health nutrition and nutrition assessment.
  • Complete as much as 5400 hours of clinical workshop, seminars or practicum or,
  • An experience of work in dietetics in postgraduate studies.

Fees Details

It is important to know that:

  • Licensure fee and renewal fee are separate.
  • Renewal is done after every year.
  • Fee has to be given for filing application as well.
  • All the fees of licensure are non-refundable so follow the requirements carefully.
  • Filing an application which is incomplete and left idle for a year is disposed and students will have to re-activate the whole application process.
  • Application fee is $190.
  • Reinstatement fee is $190
  • Renewal fee is $190.

Address of the Board

All the documents should be submitted to:

Connecticut Department of Public Health, Dietitian/Nutritionist Certification, 410 Capitol Ave., MS# 12 APP, P.O. Box 340308,Hartford, CT 06134.

Degrees

There is a master’s degree available in the University of Bridgeport, Connecticut which offers M.S in Human Nutrition. Courses taught here are:

  • Vitamins and Minerals
  • Clinical Biochemistry
  • Developmental Nutrition
  • Virtual Clinic
  • Evidence Based Nutrition

Salary and Employment

Nutritionists in Connecticut earned an average income of $61,520 per year and $29.57 per hour in 2011. Moreover, there were 680 people employed in this state as dietitians and nutritionists in 2011 (BLS).

Campus Type:
Matching School Ads
Copyright © 2017 HealthSchoolGuide.net. All Rights Reserved. No part of this web site may be reproduced or transmitted without permission in writing from the publisher. Program outcomes vary according to each institution's curriculum and job opportunities are not guaranteed. This site is for informational purposes and is not a substitute for professional help.