Nutritionist Licensure and Certification in Arkansas

The Arkansas board of Dietetics Licensing Board (ADLB) is serving professionally and effectively to promote health and safety in the state. This board operates by giving nutrition and dietitians licensures to qualified professionals. The board works on certain rules and regulations which have to be kept in mind if you intend to apply for a nutrition licensure. It applies all their laws & regulations through the l989’s Dietetics Practice Act. Licensing board members, who are appointed by the governor of the board, process new applications and license renewals. The state holds the record of having licensed 580 dietitians. You can reach the board at P. O. Box 1016, North Little Rock, AR  72115, 501/221-0566. This place could be contacted in case of submission of application, fees, for queries, information about license and more.

As of October 2012, there are seven people who represent the licensing board and are all residents of Arkansas. Among them four are licensed dietitians and three are public representatives. The names of the members are Marilou Brodie, MS. RD. LD. Chair, Patricia Bryant, RD.LD, Billie Haymes Secretary, Kimberly Jablonski, MS, RD,LD, James Jackson, Sr., Sandra Prater and Justine M. Flowers. They perform varied duties to help students qualify for becoming nutritionist and dietitians. For this, they hold meetings to discuss changes and then work.

Practice Act. Of Licensing in Arkansas

This board was made in 1989 by the Act 392. The definition, licensing and examination are given by the legislature for nutritionists and dietitians. This legislature also authorizes duties and powers of members in the board.

Requirements for Licensure

  • You will not be allowed to practice in the state unless you get yourself licensed by the Board under the provisions of the Dietetics Practice Act.
  • You will have to submit application typewritten or printed. It should be signed by you.
  • The fee for submitting application should be filed with it.
  • You must have a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree from accredited university, college or school of Arkansas. It should be in food and nutrition, food system management or human nutrition.
  • You must have a pre-professional work experience which should be supervised and authenticated by the American Dietetic Association.
  • You must give a proof of passing your exam.
  • You must also know that examination will be given two times annually.

License does not act on:

You should know that there are conditions under which you are not bound to have a license in this state. It would be wise to keep a note of them.

  • If you are a supervised student doing work practice, then you are not entitled to the Dietitian, Licensed Dietitian or Provisional Licensed Dietitian.
  • If you are hired by a licensed Dietitian, dietetic technician or nutritionist who is operating in his or her own work then this requirement is not for you.
  • If you are a dietitian or nutritionist in armed forces providing effective services then you will not have to obtain licensure.
  • If you are engaged in a supervised program by the American Dietetic Association then licensure will not work for you.

Salary and Employment

The annual salary for dietitians and nutritionists in Arkansas is $50,700 per year and mean hourly wage is $24.38. The numbers of people employed in this state were 430 in 2011 (bls.gov).

Degree and Courses in Nutrition

In Arkansas, bachelor’s degree in nutrition is highly in demand. University of Central Arkansas offers a Bachelor of Science in Nutrition which could be your first step to enter in healthcare industry. It is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition & Dietetics (ACEND). Some of the major courses in the program are:

  • Food Science
  • Resource Management
  • Personal & Family Finance
  • Sports Nutrition
  • Human Anatomy & Physiology
  • Food Economics
  • Meal Management

After graduation, you could do internship which should provide you with a certificate. Hence, you will be allowed to go for a registration exam through licensure to be a registered dietitian (RD).

Campus Type:
Matching School Ads
Copyright © 2017 HealthSchoolGuide.net. All Rights Reserved. No part of this web site may be reproduced or transmitted without permission in writing from the publisher. Program outcomes vary according to each institution's curriculum and job opportunities are not guaranteed. This site is for informational purposes and is not a substitute for professional help.