Nutritionist Certification Requirements in Alabama

If you want to be a nutritionist who alters the eating habits of people then you must complete formal education. Your job might be to maintain and fix a healthy eating schedule so that others could lead a healthy life.

To become a nutritionist in Alabama it is essential for you to keep a check of the state requirements regarding each phase. You could be a nutritionist by completing a nutrition certificate, associate’s degree, bachelor’s degree, master’s or doctoral degree in nutrition.

It is a strict requirement in Alabama that if you are unable to acquire a licensure after completing your studies then you will not be allowed to practice as a nutritionist. The state approves using titles like nutritionist/dietitian, “dietitian” or “nutritionists” alone or L.D. and L.N only if you are licensed or authorized by the state.

So it is very important to know about all the nutritionist certification in Alabama which might help you with getting yourself registered.

Licensing in Alabama

The Alabama state board provides potential information about the licensing authorities which are operating here. The board states that to become licensed you should first write an application which is provided by the board. This application might ensure that you are up to the match of their rules and regulations. It should be kept in mind that money or check must be handed with the application to the Alabama Board of Examiners for Dietitian/Nutrition practice. The board will then keep the approved applications and proceed further. The board charges $100 for application, $75 for temporary license, $150 for license and $150 for the license renewal.

It is also important to note that the licensure board could be contacted between 9.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. from Monday to Friday, as this is their availability time. The Board’s address is: Board of Examiners for Dietetic/Nutrition Practice, 400 So. Union Street, Suite 445, Montgomery, AL  36104.

Requirements for Licensure

The state holds strict requirements in order to qualify for the licensure of dietitian and nutritionist.

  • You should be 19 years or older.
  • You should have an evidence of your good ethical nature and character, which you could provide through references.
  • You should pass the exam which is under sponsorship of Commission of Dietetic Registration.
  • You should complete mandatory educational requirements that are set by the “Dietetic/Nutrition Practice Act of 1989.”
  • You should also submit your ADA professional experience of nutrition and dietitian.
  • Lastly, you have to pass the examination taken by the Commission on Dietetic Registration.

Types of Licenses in Alabama

In Alabama, there are two different licensures available. You could either be given a temporary or regular license which is based on the rules stated in the “Dietetic/Nutrition Practice Act of 1989”. Temporary license expires in one year and could be issued if you submit all your educational and professional details. After expiry date you will have to renew it. On the other hand, regular license is for all the residents of this state or country.

Campus Type:
Matching School Ads
Copyright © 2017 HealthSchoolGuide.net. All Rights Reserved. No part of this web site may be reproduced or transmitted without permission in writing from the publisher. Program outcomes vary according to each institution's curriculum and job opportunities are not guaranteed. This site is for informational purposes and is not a substitute for professional help.